skip navigation

Home of Sycamore Youth Football

Click Below To Be Taken To The 2021 Registration For  Tackle and Flag  Football as well as Cheer
Tackle Registration must be completed by June 30th.  Flag and Cheer registration must be completed by July 15th.

Click below to be taken to the 2021 Registration.  This is an exciting year for us at SYFL as we are switching our lower levels of football over to flag.  Now you can register for flag from grades K-6, Tackle for kids that are 11 by Aug 1, 2021 or for cheerleading from 1st-8th grade. 

Important Information for 2021 Season


This year we are moving to flag football for grades K-6. We also offer tackle for kids that are 11 by Aug 1, 2021.  Cheer will be for grades K-8th.  

After much research and discussion, SYFL has decided to move to flag football for our lower levels.  In doing this, we can put even more emphasis on safety, play in house (so no travel), keep families already busy schedules a little less busy as flag requires less practices and a slightly shorter season.  

We are super excited for this change and will be working closely with the Sycamore High School Football Program as we implement these changes.

Camp for all kids will be July 19-21 from 5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. at North Grove Elementary.

Starting July 26, cheer will practice on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 5:30 - 7:30.  Tackle will practice M-Th 5:30 - 7:30 at North Grove.  Flag will start practice on August 3rd and practices will be on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 5:30-7:00 p.m. (there will be a practice the first Saturday of August tbd).  

Tackle games start August 14th. Times and locations will vary.  Our conference schedules those games and times.  We should have 4 home games and 4 away games over a 9 week period (there will be games on Labor Day Weekend).  Games are typically on Saturday.  The furthest we travel is about 75 minutes away (but we may not go there...just depends on the schedule).   There is a possibility for up to two weeks of playoffs for tackle.

Flag games will all be in Sycamore on Saturdays starting August 14th.  Game times will be noon and probably 1:00 p.m.   There will be 6 games over a 7 week period (Labor Day Weekend off for flag).

One thing we really need from our families to pull this off is volunteers.  Please consider coaching or inquiring about joining our board.  Coaching will be 3 days per week for the flag teams.

Thank you in advance for joining the SYFL family and for considering volunteering.

If you have any questions, please reach out.

SYFL is looking for sponsors for the 2021 Season

See the below attached document if you are interested.  SYFL relies very heavily on our sponsors as a way to keep our fees low and affordable.  In 2020, we lost all of our income, but didn't lose any of our bills.  We have some great sponsorship opportunities.  See attached document for the various levels of sponsorship we offer as well as an explanation as to how we use those sponsorship monies.  Thank you in advance for considering a sponsorship.


SYFL Exclusive Spirit Wear Store Is Now Open

Click the below link to be taken to our spirit wear online store.  This store will remain open until July 31st to hopefully have all of our spirit wear delivered by the time of our first games (August 14, 2021).

Exclusive SYFL Spirit Wear

Get your spiritwear now! Store closes July 15, 2021.


Matthew Ranken for the Love of the Game

Award Winners


Flyweight: Xavier Delgado

Lightweight: Ryan McCoy

Middleweight: Teddy Lucas

Heavyweight: Tyler Grimm



Flyweight: Logan Gibson

Lightweight: Caleb Kaelin

Middleweight: Tyler Lockhart

Heavyweight: Gable Carrick

7th/8th Grade: Connor Thorstens



Flyweight: Adam Cobos

Lightweight: Dylan Hodges

Middleweight: Joey Culotta

Heavyweight: Eli Meier

7th/8th grade: Dashon Westbrook



Flyweight: Burke Gautcher

Lightweight: Matthew Rangle

Middleweight: Kiefer Tarnoki

Heavyweight: Brayden Peet



Flyweight: Tyler Whitfield 
Lightweight: Dawson Alexander 
Middleweight: Jake O'Donnell 
Heavyweight: Carsten Menzer 


Flyweight: Zack Crawford

Lightweight: Brody Armstrong

Middleweight: Bobby Scianna

Heavyweight: Jason Hayes


Sponsor Of The Week!

Our Sponsors

These fine organizations make what we do possible. Please show your support to these amazing sponsors and thank them for their commitment to our organization. Interested in becoming a sponsor? Click here to learn more about our sponsorship opportunities

Sponsored by Brian Bemis Auto Group

Brian Bemis Auto Group

Visit Website

1875 DeKalb Ave

Sycamore, Il 60178


Sponsored by LRS - Lakeshore Recycling Systems

LRS - Lakeshore Recycling Systems

Visit Website
Sponsored by O'Donnell Crane

O'Donnell Crane

Visit Website


Sponsored by Sycamore Wrestling Club

Sycamore Wrestling Club

Visit Website
Sponsored by Northern Illinois Rehab Specialists

Northern Illinois Rehab Specialists

Visit Website

Dr. Curtis

124 N California St, Sycamore, IL 60178
(815) 895-7660
Sponsored by Jim DuMont Baird and Warner

Jim DuMont Baird and Warner

Visit Website
Sponsored by 3-D Auto Repair

3-D Auto Repair

Visit Website

235 S. Halwood St.

Cortland, Il 60112


Sponsored by Cortland Flooring

Cortland Flooring

Visit Website
Sponsored by Paulsen Appliance and Electronics

Paulsen Appliance and Electronics

Visit Website
245 W. State St, Sycamore
Sponsored by Italian Dreams

Italian Dreams

Visit Website
 436 N Main St, Sycamore, IL 60178
(815) 899-0905

Cortland Animal Hospital

Visit Website


13669 IL Rte 38, Dekalb

Thanks Dr. Askew

Sponsored by Hobnobbers


Visit Website

Located on the corner of Peace/Plank road  and Main St  (RT 23) Sycamore


Ollie's Frozen Custard

Visit Website
2290 Oakland Dr, Sycamore, IL 60178
(815) 758-8222
Ranken helmet element view

Matthew Ranken Memorial Fund

Sycamore Junior Spartan Football

Philosophy and General Information

Sycamore Youth Football represents a traveling club football team that is a feeder system into our Sycamore High School.  The SYFL builds an age appropriate competitive team that is a member of the Northern Illinois Football Conference.  As a feeder program for the Sycamore High School, and under the auspices and direction/tutiledge of Sycamore High School Head Coach, Joe Ryan, the SYFL Jr. Spartans have adopted the Sycamore High School playbook.  Our coaches all undergo a National Center for Safety Institute background check, USA footbal "Heads Up Play" coaching certification, and a year round coaching program designed to highlight both the Sycamore High School football philosophy and appropriately train our coaches in practice and game management as well as player development.  Our coaches have experience ranging from new coaches to coaches with upward of 16 years experience.
Lastly, we are a volunteer organization that depends on family support.  We encourage each family to become involved with their child and Sycamore Youth Football and Cheer.  Whether it be through coaching, cheering, chain gang, working concession or helping with the board, the boosters or a variety of events, we want to welcome you to the Sycamore Jr. Spartan family.